Gardening 101: Weeding, Pruning and Advil Taking

It’s been a while since I’ve shared the progress we’ve made on the outside of our house. Unfortunately, up until this week, I hadn’t lifted a finger to help with the exterior of our home. Last you saw, Pete had removed the trees and hedges from the front yard, which he and his mom have been trying to break down into Lowe’s bags for weeks. I had been attacking interior work—painting and more wallpaper removal mostly—so I had my blinders on when it came to the great outdoors.

Here is the house a few weeks ago after having the trees and hedges recently removed.

This is a shot of the exterior of the house from today—the grass has already started to grow back where the trees and hedges once lived. A few weekends ago, my dad spent an entire day pressure washing the bricks, concrete patio and sides of the house and shed. The bricks are more vibrant now, but we still have to weed the cracks and fill them with sand. Yesterday I made a pathetic attempt to purchase 4×8 lattice for covering the giant gaps underneath our house, but I failed miserably when trying to lug it around Lowe’s by my lonesome. It was definitely an entertaining sight for the red vest-wearing employees, I’m sure. Anyway, please note the addition of Harold the Gnome, who I have grown up with since I was a wee little thing. Yes, I know he could use a paint job, but I still love him like a brother from another mother.

Pete’s parents found this old spoon on the road in front of our house when they were helping us on moving day. I decided to keep it to display in the flower pot, which reminded me of these spoon garden markers I gifted my friend a while back.

You might have noticed we decided to keep the bunny statue we inherited from the previous owner (Elva). We think it suits our love for all things bunnies. Pete’s mom had the idea to surround basil with marigolds in pots on the porch in an attempt to deter the real life bunnies from the basil. This little guy sure doesn’t mind the marigolds, but hopefully the real critters won’t be eating any caprese salad anytime soon. In other news, we bought a bird house and so far I haven’t seen a single bird munching on the bird suets. Hmph.

Here’s a view of the front of the house, where Pete’s mom and I planted deep purple petunias. Keep in mind I have never weeded or gardened a day in my life, so this is all a learning experience for me.

We planted the petunias around the front of the house and righthand side, where I hope to add some more flowers to plant underneath the hedges. Any ideas on what might look good and flourish this time of year?

Pete’s mom thought these might be a sign of chrysanthemums…any advice if we should just weed them or if these might turn into something purty in the fall?

I spent my entire afternoon trimming the hedges on the side of the yard, which take up a pretty hefty amount of space near our driveway. Sorry I don’t have any decent “before” photos to give you an idea of how overgrown and unhealthy they were. I have no idea if I did a good job or not, but I mostly got rid of the massive amount of dead branches and raised them from the ground to make room for mulch and flowers. Just call me Shannon Scissorhands…no seriously, don’t do that. We’ve lucked out because our township offers a composting facility for residents, where they provide endless mounds of free wood mulch and leaf mulch. For those local readers out there, be sure to check out more information on the Abington Township’s compost page.

I probably spent four or five hours grunting, snapping thick branches and weeding. At one point, I was sitting in dirt with giant earthworms crawling across my pants and plenty of millipedes, centipedes and spiders in sight. Let’s not forget that I spotted a wee garden snake nearing the end of my adventures in pruning, but I just kept weeding and cleaning up buried candy wrappers in a state of pure delusion. For those of you who don’t know me very well, I am absolutely terrified of snakes and centipedes and anything that is creepy crawly, so today was a great success in bravery! I’m pretty sure I have never been so sweaty and gross in my life. This seems to be a recurring theme during our house revamping, but it’s nothing a cold shower, lots of water and a few Advil can’t help.

During this sweaty gardening time, I got a surprise visit from the uber adorable Stephanie, who introduced herself through my blog a while back while Pete and I were in the house hunting process. It turns out she lives right down our street…it’s a crazy, small world! Anyway, my apologies to Stephanie for the grossest first impression of me ever, I hope she’ll still want to be my neighborhood pal.

This is a normal week’s worth of Lowe’s bags for us as of lately. Hopefully the garbage men don’t hate us too much yet.

Here’s a glimpse at the progress Pete and his mom have made with cleaning up the trees and hedges from the front yard. Pardon the dead grass, I’m telling myself it will come back to life soon.

Pete and his mom also cleaned up the entire fenced in garden area, which had been filled to the brim with weeds and all sorts of not-so-pretty garbage. For now, it is home to our new tomato plants, but one day we will hopefully have beds with all sorts of delicious herbs and vegetables.

Pete discovered that the pieces of slate in the backyard were a lot bigger than we had thought since they were covered up with weeds and grass. He did his best to clear them all off, but now that they are all revealed, we aren’t sure what to do about them. Do you think we should use our spare slate pieces to make a more cohesive area (minus the random path probably) where we could have some additional outdoor seating? Or should we scrap it and grow grass back into those areas? Most of the slate pieces we’ve inherited with the yard are quite large and parallelogram-shaped, so it makes it a bit more difficult to make an interesting slate pathway like you may have seen on Young House Love.

Pete also got his pressure washin’ on when my dad came to help rescue our dirty exterior. We were really surprised by how much of a difference the pressure washer made, especially on the fire pit/stone grill thingy in the back.

Speaking of the fire pit thingy, what the heck is this and what do you think we should do with it? It is completely falling apart, so we should probably dispose of it, but part of me wishes we could fix it up in some way and turn it into a functioning fire pit.

That just about sums up this week’s house happenings so far. I’ve also been making some progress with the last of the wallpaper removal on our first floor, in addition to trying to repair cracked (and majorly leaking) shower grout. When I’m not surrounding myself with earthworms and caulk, I’m applying to jobs, writing cover letters and freelance blogging. Oh, and finding owners of lost dogs, so I’ll share more about all of this soon!

8 thoughts on “Gardening 101: Weeding, Pruning and Advil Taking”

  1. Wow, what a difference!! It looks like you guys are on your way to being expert gardeners!! Oh, that fenced in garden area will be WONDERFUL for planting veggies! I need something similar to keep the dogs out of our tomatoes…they love plucking them right before they ripen just to aggravate the hell out of me, lol.

    As for the stones & firepit, it’d be great if you could salvage the pieces for something to build later, but it does look a bit random now. Maybe break it down, plant grass there, but save it for later when you can get creative with the materials/add more to it!

    Like

  2. Yard work is really taxing and I’m proud of all the hard work you’ve been doing. You’re doing a really great job. I hope we get some good suggestions about what to do with our slate pieces, and some good landscaping advice.

    Like

  3. Shannon and Pete, you’ve done an amazing job on everything inside and outside. Shannon, you are much more brave than your wimpy Mom. There is no way in hell I would have been on the ground with creatures crawling over me. And the snake~well absolutely HELL NO!!!!!!

    Pete’s family have been a tremendous help especially Mom Mary. Thanks to you Mary for being the best! I am quite the slacker compared to you.

    I wish the Schuster Family and Shannon a much-deserved beach vacation. We’ll enjoy sitting for our Grandpup Betty White.

    Like

  4. These past two days were fun and rewarding. We started out by surveying houses and businesses in the Abington area for landscaping ideas. Then we went to a friendly garden shop on Horsham Road. This nice man gave us the idea to mix marigolds with the basil to keep the treasure away from the bunnies. When we started weeding, planting and mulching I saw more worms, spiders and unidentified other critters than I have ever seen in my life time. I tried to stay brave by reminding myself out loud that worms are good for the garden and spiders feast on nasty insects. When I left for home Shannon was still busy pruning and planting. Shannon has a way of making things fun even dirty, hot, sweaty ones. I’m so proud of the two of you and truly enjoy being a part of your projects.

    Like

  5. We had a gardening/weeding day last weekend. We have let our backyard totally go and I spent several hours just weeding and only finished half the yard. My husband spent the morning trimming bushes.

    Oh the joys of homeownership!

    Like

  6. Wow. You guys have done more work in 2 months than we have in 4 years! I had no idea Abington had free mulch! Definitely gonna have to remember that, as we just ripped out all the shrubs in front of our house and plan to build a retaining wall/garden.

    Like

  7. I did outside work yesterday too! Mine was mostly not fun though, cutting the grass and pulling weeds. But then I got to plant 2 pepper plants and some mint, and I put some dahlia’s in our front porch flower boxes! Yay! This stuff is all new to me too, so I hope I’m actually pulling out weeds and not real plants. Do marigolds really keep bunnies away?!

    Omg every time I pulled up a worm, I screamed. Ha ha, I’m still not used to them, they creep me out for sure!

    Your fenced-in garden makes me sooo jealous, I want to plant strawberries or something in it! So much room!

    I think if you’re keeping the fire pit, the path might as well stay, since you’re going to wear a path into the grass anyway when you walk back there. A fire pit sounds fun too, smores whenever you want!

    Like

  8. Erin’s comment about the free mulch reminded me that I wanted to mention it. You can talk with Dad about it, but in PA when he got free mulch from the township we had swarming termites a while after that. You might want to reconsider.

    Like

Leave a comment